Dog / Kennel Licenses

Dog licenses and Kennel Licenses must be obtained annually at the Town Clerk’s Office or by mail using the Dog License Mail-In Form (PDF) or Kennel License Application (PDF)

Applicant Notice

Kennel License Applicants Note: Charlton Animal Control has the right to inspect any kennel at any time per Massachusetts General Law (MGL), Chapter 140 Section 137C. The dog license period is January 1 to December 31. The owner or keeper of a dog six months old or over is required to obtain a dog license from the Town Clerk and the license must be attached to a collar or harness of said dog per MGL, Ch. 140, § 137.

Application Information

Payments may be made by check or online through UniPay.

When applying for a dog license the applicant must show proof, by a licensed veterinarian's certificate, that the dog has been vaccinated against rabies, as required by Massachusetts General Laws, Chapter 140, Sections 137 and 145B. The Charlton Animal Control Bylaws may also be viewed in the Town Clerk’s Office. 

Please be advised that Charlton has a 24-hour leash law.

Licensing Fees

TypeFees
Female$20
Spayed Female
$10
Male$20
Neutered Male
$10
Senior Citizen (65 and over)
$17
Senior Citizen Spayed/Neutered$8


Exemptions & Late Fees

A late fee of $10 will be added to license fees if you fail to license by March 1. Any person 70 years of age or older, upon proof of age, shall be exempt from the annual fee for one dog, per household, per year. The owner of a kennel license, age 70 years of age or older, shall be excluded from this exemption. (Per Town’s acceptance of the provision of Massachusetts General Law Chapter 140, Section139 (c) at the May 20, 2013, Annual Town Meeting.)

Substitute Tag: $1

Transfer License: $1

Kennel Fees

AmountFees
4 dogs or less$35
5 to 10 dogs$75
11 to 25 dogs$100
26 or more dogs$200


A late fee of $50 will be added to kennel license fees if you fail to license by March 1.

Failure to License

Dog owners who fail to license will be subject to a $50 failure to license citation given by the Animal Control Officer. Failure to pay this citation within 21 days from the date issued will result in a summons to District Court. Please notify the Town Clerk if you no longer have your dog or your dog has passed away. Failure to do so may result in a failure to license citation. 

Review all Charlton Animal Control Bylaws.